The Art of Being Alone

I was speaking with a friend the other day who was going to the movies for the first time alone.  She was petrified of the judgment she might receive.  I told her that I used to go to the movies and eat alone ALL THE TIME, especially when my husband was in residency and before little bambino arrived.  She thought I was cray.

As the mother of a small child, I am never alone, and I’m fine with that.  But before motherhood, I was always okay being alone.  My husband has a demanding schedule and my friends aren’t always available.  Was I supposed to sit in our apartment like a hermit because of that?

I would go out to lunch between errands and people-watch.  I saw some great movies such as One Direction: This is Us without complaining from my better half.  It was a win for me!

Trust me, I had some great afternoons out to lunch by myself.  I also live by the philosophy “no company is better than bad company.”  I have a few well-developed friendships rather than “tons of friends.”  I would rather be alone than with someone I have nothing in common with.  My parents didn’t over-program me with playdates as a kid, and I had to self-entertain.  I think this is important.  It is okay to be alone sometimes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Societal Observations

Leave a Reply

