Not a rite of passage

I just want to observe that we live in a great time, if you take away some of the crazy stuff that is going on in the world.  We live in a society that mostly accepts people that don’t want to have kids.

For me, I always knew that I wanted to be a mother.  My plan was: go to college, work for a few years, meet a handsome gentleman who shared my values, get married, and eventually have children.  I basically did that.  My child is my destination.  But that’s not the way it is for everybody.

I have a friend who does not want to have kids.  She is very career-oriented and has zero patience.  I applaud her for being self-aware enough to realize that children are not her forte.  Back in our parents’ generation, having kids was a “rite of passage.”  You got married, and then you had a baby shortly thereafter.  Women were looked at like something was wrong with them if they didn’t have kids, and some of them probably gave in to that pressure.

Having children is a lifetime investment.  You can’t just turn them off.  I am glad that people can treat this decision with the seriousness it deserves and make whatever choice works best for them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

