Sheldon

I am so excited for THE BIG BANG THEORY’s return to television tonight. It is probably my favorite showSheldon on TV, but I do feel it is ridiculous that the three lead actors are getting paid $1 million/episode, especially Johnny Galecki and Kaley Cuoco.  While their characters are entertaining and have a big role on a show, they do not hold a candle to my buddy, Dr. Sheldon Cooper as portrayed by Jim Parsons.

Dr. Cooper is a theoretical physicist at Caltech (in this fictional show).  I love that Sheldon  has a genius level IQ but is extremely socially inept.  This guy isn’t just a nerd.  He is narcissistic and extremely inflexible.  My sister and I have always talked about how we would rather have common sense than book smarts, and this is exactly why.  It makes for great TV though.

One of my favorite things about Sheldon (besides that he is hilarious) is that he feels bound by a social contract.  While he takes this to an extreme with his “Roommate Agreement” with Leonard and relationship contract with Amy Farrah Fowler, I do believe in a certain protocol for dealing with people.  For example, Sheldon dislikes gifts because he feels he owes the gift-giver a debt.  While I enjoy gifts, I do understand his point.

I honestly don’t think this show could exist without Jim Parsons.  Perhaps the other two leads, but not him.  Not only has he won four Emmy awards for his portrayal, but the show’s plot centers around his awkward interactions.

This is incredibly nerdy, but I do own a “Bazinga!” t-shirt I wear in honor of my favorite geek.  I’m not crazy, my mother had me tested!

Other Favorite Sheldon Quotes:

(knock x 3) Penny! (knock x 3) Penny! (kn0ck x 3) Penny!

There’s no reason to cry.  One cries because one is sad.  For example, I cry because others are stupid, and it makes me sad.

On the contrary.  I found the Grinch to be a relatable, engaging character, and I was really with him right up to the point that he succumbed to social convention and returned the presents and saved Christmas.  What a buzz kill that was!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Because I'm Kate, Reviews

One response to “Sheldon

  1. Me

    My favorite character is Howard’s Mom.

Leave a Reply

