Tick-Tock Goes the Clock

The other night I was furious. Fifteen minutes after I had put dinner in the oven, my husband called and said he wouldn’t be home for dinner because he found out he had to do a special evening clinic. He learned this less than an hour before the clinic started. I know Eric thinks I’m a raving lunatic, but I wasn’t mad at him. With his work, we have a limited amount of time together, so I value the time I do get with him. I know it really wasn’t that big of a deal by itself, but we already had plans. Maybe the plans were just to have dinner, but I’m tired of other entities and people thinking that their plans are more important than ours. In general, I think there is a lack of respect for other people’s time in this world.

For example, in March we had an appointment to file our taxes. Our appointment was at 9:30am, and we weren’t seen until 10:30am. No explanation, no apology. I understand that there are issues and could have handled a fifteen minute delay. But this was an hour delay, and it was going to take at least another forty minutes to complete our taxes. I took off work and really needed to be back int he office around 11am. This is the second firm this has happened with in as many years. There should be some consideration for my time, especially when I’m a paying customer.

There is nothing in the world I hate more than wasting time. I will seriously start twitching if I think I am going to be late somewhere. First, I think it is a poor reflection on me. I actually told Eric that if we were going to be late for church, we weren’t going. Secondly, I think it is so disrespectful to the other people. They only have so much time too, and I’m sure they would rather be doing something meaningful than sitting around waiting for me. I’m not talking about people who are late once in awhile. When you are chronically late, you are subconsciously implying that your time is more important than the other party’s. That’s not okay.

I am never late. Of course, there are unforeseen circumstances, but you can be your bottom dollar I would give someone the courtesy of a call or text before I was tardy to the party. I’m never late to work, and if I were, I hope my colleagues would realize that something is probably wrong.

One time, I was at the doctor’s office for my yearly checkup. I had a 10am appointment and had taken the morning off work. I was not seen until 11:45am. A little after 11am, I poked my head out of the door to my room. The nurse/medical assistant asked me if there was a problem. I said that I had been waiting an hour and was wondering when I would be seen. The person told me that the doctor was backed up (duh), and it would be a little bit longer, but she it with an attitude as if I were the one with the problem when in fact my time was being wasted. Trust me, I understand better than most that emergencies happen in medicine (although this was the clinic). Somebody on staff could have communicated that the doctor was running extremely late and given me the option of waiting it out or rescheduling.

I was talking with a friend and she said she would rather have more time to herself and with loved ones than a high-powered career. I couldn’t agree more. In fact, that is why I took a step back when we moved from Miami a few years ago. I have a job that I work hard at, but there are no emergencies, and I can disconnect when I leave the office. While we are a money-driven society, time is the most precious commodity we have. Time is irreplaceable – we don’t have the opportunity to get it back. I don’t think my time is any more valuable than anybody else’s but nobody else’s time is any more valuable than mine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Societal Observations

Leave a Reply

