Don’t Be Cheap

Summertime is in full swing, and all the little birdies say don’t be “cheap, cheap, cheap.”

I never worked in the food service industry, but I know a lot of people who go their start there. A family friend once told us that minimum wage was about $2 ($2.13 according to this article) because the rest should be supplemented by tipping. So, that means tips are essential for servers to make a living wage.

My parents taught me to tip fairly, and in light of this information, it is even more important to do so. If I get average service, I tip at least 15-17%. If I get outstanding service, I’ll probably tip about 25%. If I get horrible service, I might tip less, depending on the cause. Anyone who knows me knows I detest “rewarding bad behavior,” but oftentimes, the poor service might not be the server’s fault (like the kitchen is backed up, or the hostess seated too many people in her section). The only reason I would really “ding” the server is if he or she were rude to us or absolutely seemed checked out of his or her responsibilities. Even at a “self-serve” restaurant like Corner Bakery, I’ll leave a couple dollars on the table for the person who clears the dishes. Some may see that as overgenerous and unnecessary, but I would rather be that than stingy. I think it’s the right thing to do.

So, if you go out to eat, I urge you to tip fairly. If you can’t do that, I would encourage you to reconsider eating at sit-down restaurants.

3 Comments

Filed under Societal Observations

3 responses to “Don’t Be Cheap

  1. Me

    Personally, I never tip more than 15%. I usually bring a calculator and spare change to make sure my tip isn’t too generous. One other important tip: If I have a coupon, I always base my tip on the bill AFTER taking off the coupon discount (otherwise you end up leaving too much).

  2. I know who you are, and that’s why I always leave an extra dollar or two on the table!

  3. “but oftentimes, the poor service might not be the server’s fault (like the kitchen is backed up, or the hostess seated too many people in her section).”

    Often times poor service is usually the server’s fault. Bringing out the wrong item, forgetting items, putting in orders wrong, bringing out obviously wrongly prepared food that you don’t have to touch the food to notice it’s wrong(such as bbq sauce on ribs when ordered none), etc. Any overcharges are ALWAYS the server’s fault and my husband & I have had our fair share of many overcharges over the years.

    Servers forget many things because they refuse to WRITE a LIST DOWN AND REREAD the list if they do write it down. Sure I have forgotten things even if I reread the list, but how many more times have I forgotten something without writing it down is A LOT MORE than the times I forgot stuff that I wrote down and reread.

    Most issues are the server’s fault. As far as hostess seating too many people, you have to get things right in order to get a good tip in most cases, so if that means slower service, then that’s what it means. I know slow service is not good service either, but it’s so much worse when things go wrong, because then the service gets even slower. It’s usually the managers that make the hostess seat too many tables at once. The people should wait in the waiting area for 3-5 more minutes rather than seating one after the other a few seconds apart. The managers don’t want to lose business, but they don’t realize by people not wanting to come back because it takes so long when they get seated, they may not come back.

Leave a Reply

