Let the Man R.I.P.

Yesterday marked the fifth anniversary of Michael Jackson’s untimely death. I’ll never forget where I was when I heard he died – at the University of Miami Wellness Center getting in a workout after a tough day of football camp reconciliation. Thriller, Bad, and Black or White(to name just a few), made up the soundtrack to my childhood. I was pretty sad.

I am glad they are releasing some of his previously unreleased work. While Love Never Felt So Good isn’t nearly my favorite MJ song, it sure is better than a lot of the other crap on the radio. And while I think Justin Timberlake is great, I don’t think he needed to be added to this song. Michael was pretty extraordinary on his own. But, I digress.

What I don’t need is what happened at the Billboard Music Awards last month. They played one of MJ’s “new” songs and had some creepy hologram of him dancing around on stage. A lot of people got emotional, but I found it disturbing. I thought of his children having to watch people trying to bring their dead father back to life.

Sadly, the man is dead. Nothing we do is going to change that. Let him rest in peace and enjoy the music he left behind as his legacy.

2 Comments

Filed under Societal Observations

2 responses to “Let the Man R.I.P.

  1. Me

    I’m glad we finally have a “new M.J.” in the talented Iggy Azalea.

  2. OMG – I can’t stand her. She is a cheap Nicki Minaj. How dare you liken her to a great talent like MJ!?!

Leave a Reply

