Do-Rite Donuts

My sister is a girl after my own heart.  For her birthday, she would rather have a “doughnut crawl” than a bar crawl.  And she lives in a great city for it.  Chicago is home to some of the best, if not the best, doughnuts in the country.  People in my neck of the woods think a certain local bakery in Durham has wonderful doughnuts.  This makes me sad for they in fact have never had a delicious doughnut.  Chicago doughnuts put ours to shame.  To be honest, I think Dunkin’ Donuts is the best we’ve got.

Chicago has several high-end doughnut shops.  There is Glazed & Infused, Doughnut Vault, and Firecakes Donuts, to name a few.  I truly enjoy Glazed and Infused (located in the Raffaello Hotel), but my personal favorite is Do-Rite Donuts.  

Whenever I am in Chicago, we take a Saturday morning stroll to Randolph Street to pick up some of the most delicious doughnuts in the world.  We swear all the walking burns off the calories.  The place is kind of a hole-in-the-wall, and can only fit about five people inside at a time to order.

They have some of the novel flavors like candied maple bacon (not my cup of tea) and carrot cake, to name a few.  As a chocoholic, I really enjoy the double chocolate old-fashioned.  Our family’s personal favorite is the Valrhona Chocolate, pictured below.  Just look at the extra dollop of chocolate.

 ImageMy sister told me that they are going to be opening a second location closer to her apartment.  While that is exciting, I’m almost scared that it will make it too easy for us to get doughnuts.  I could seriously inhale these things.  So, the next time you are in the Windy City, I suggest that you check out the various doughnut establishments if you can afford to spare some calories (or even if you can’t).  If you have time for only one, go to Do-Rite

1 Comment

Filed under Because I'm Kate, Reviews

One response to “Do-Rite Donuts

  1. Love this! Can’t wait to hit up Do-Rite when you’re in town!

Leave a Reply

