Boomer

New York Mets second baseman Daniel Murphy is a new father and has taken heat for his brief paternity leave from two ignorant sportscasters.  At the beginning of the 2014 MLB season, Murphy took three days off to be with his wife and newborn baby.  I think that’s admirable.  WFAN broadcasters Boomer Esiason and Mike Francesca weight in and are now the scum of the earth int he eyes of many parents.

“I would have said C-section before the season starts.  I need to be at Opening Day.  I’m sorry.  This is what makes our money.” -Boomer Esiason

I’m not a crazy feminist by any stretch of the imagination, but there is just so much wrong with the above statement.  First, the decision to have a C-section isn’t one that should be made lightly.  It should be used when medically necessary.  I would not volunteer to be cut open if I didn’t have to be.  While I’ve never had a C-section, people I’ve spoken with indicate that it is painful and has a longer recovery time than a vaginal birth.  Why subject yourself to that if not medically necessary?  Also, what kind of crappy person would put his career ahead of the life and health of his wife and child?  Esiason, I suppose.

Also, MLB plays 162 regular season games.  Guys miss games all the time for various reasons.  Who cares that this guy missed two games at the beginning of the season?  It’s not like it’s the playoffs.  Even if it were, if Murphy felt that taking a couple days off is in the best interest of his family, who are we to judge?

We are so obsessed with career and money in this country that we never stop to enjoy life.  Obviously, Boomer Esiason is willing to miss major milestones in his children’s lives in favor of his career and the almighty dollar.  Just because he feels that way doesn’t mean everybody else does.  You can earn back money, you can make up work, but you can never get back time and memories.  When he is old and decrepit, his children will be taking care of him and his NFL career will only be a distant memory.

It’s like that stupid Cadillac commercial.  The Europeans who have a month vacation in August are probably more fulfilled and have better relationships with their families than a lot of Americans.  But, I digress.

“What are you going to do?  I mean you are going to sit there and look at your wife in a hospital bed for two days?  Your wife doesn’t need your help the first couple of days; you know that your not doing much the first couple days with the baby that was just born.” – Mike Francesca

What are you going to do?  When I deliver a child I certainly want my husband there for support.  That’s what you do.  Yes, my husband can look at me in the hospital bed for two days because he loves me.  I just pushed out a baby – hello!  I expect my husband to be fully engaged when our child is born.  He can help change diapers, rock the baby to sleep, or get dinner ready.  I guess, according to Francesca, that women should just go at it alone.  He probably thinks dads “babysit” (next week’s blog).  My husband has a demanding career and other people depend on him, but at the end of the day he understands that his first priority is his family.

Francesca’s word really bother me because it downplays the importance of a father’s role.  In his eyes, the father is just a sperm donor who makes an occasional appearance in his children’s lives.  Glad he isn’t my dad!  Francesca also made the comment that if Murphy’s family needed help, they should have hired help.  I mean, really?  Just because you make a lot of money doesn’t mean you need to farm your kid out to a nanny.  Shouldn’t a father want to bond with his child?  A recent study says that it is important for infants to bond with their parents and if they don’t, they are set up for a much tougher time in life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Societal Observations

Leave a Reply

